EASA and FAA certify Airbus A330-800

Published: 26 February 2020 - 5 a.m.
By: Aviation Business

Airbus’ A330-800 has received joint type certification from the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) and the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).

The aircraft’s certification flight-test campaign was performed by aircraft MSN1888, which completed the programme in 370 flight test hours and 132 flights since its first flight in November 2018.

The A330-800 is Airbus’ most efficient, longest range entry-level widebody and incorporates new Rolls-Royce Trent 7000 engines, a new 3D-optimised wing and new Sharklets using lighter composite materials.

These features reduce fuel consumption by 25% compared with older generation competitor aircraft of similar size.

Certified initially with a maximum take-off weight (MTOW) of 242 tonnes for a range capability of up to 7,500 nautical miles, the A330-800 will typically seat 220 to 260 passengers in three classes, or up to 406 travellers in a single-class high-density configuration.

To date the A330neo family has won 337 firm orders from 22 operators.

Click here to add your comment

Please add your comment below
Your email address will not be published