CW Awards 2017: Engineer of the Year crowned

CW Awards 2017: Engineer of the Year crowned
Published: 7 December 2017 - midnight
By: James Morgan

Atkins’s Peter Buchanan was named Engineer of the Year at the Construction Week Awards 2017.

Buchanan, who was also named Engineer of the Year at the Construction Week Oman Awards 2017 in March, was commended by our independent panel of judges for continuously challenging himself, and effectively applying his technical ability and leadership skills to a regional role.

One judge praised this year’s winning engineer for his success in creating “a huge amount of integration with his junior team”. Another was struck by Buchanan’s ability to value engineer projects for his clients without compromising on quality.

WATCH: Judges meet in Dubai to discuss the CW Awards 2017 shortlist

Aurecon’s Ben Hawkes was named this year’s Highly Commended Engineer.

Other shortlisted nominations included Al Faraa Contracting’s Clement Gunasekar; Dewan Architects’ Engi Jaber; Turner & Townsend’s Rebecca King; and Drake & Scull International’s (DSI) Shibu Varghese.

An independent panel of judges, comprising eight of the Middle East’s foremost construction experts, selected winners in 14 categories at the Construction Week Awards 2017.

The event was supported by Gold Sponsors ALEC, HPBS, HBF, EB, National Engineering Bureau (NEB), and Union National Bank (UNB); Silver Sponsors Arabtec, Depa, Future Metro, and WME Consultants; Category Sponsors Construction Computer Software (CCS), DeSimone Structural Engineers, JLG, Kone, Multiplex, and Ramboll; Social Media Partner, WSP; and Post-Event Celebration Sponsor, BAM International.

Click here to add your comment

Please add your comment below
Your email address will not be published