Kuwait denies issuing travel ban on five countries

Kuwait denies issuing travel ban on five countries
This image is for representation purposes only.
Published: 5 February 2017 - 2 a.m.
By: Jochebed Menon

Kuwait has denied media reports that it planned to stop issuing entry visas for citizens of Syria, Iraq, Iran, Pakistan, and Afghanistan.

The state affirmed that issuance of visa was a "sovereignty matter."

The foreign ministry "categorically denies these claims and affirms that these reported nationalities (which he did not mention) have big communities in Kuwait and enjoy full rights," Sami Al-Hamad, assistant foreign minister for consular affairs, said in a statement to Kuwait News Agency.

Al-Hamad said citizens of the countries mentioned visited Kuwait regularly through direct commercial flights.

Businesspeople from Kuwait and those countries are bound to commercial relations, he added.


Click here to add your comment

Please add your comment below
Your email address will not be published