Winners of decommissioning awards announced

Winners of decommissioning awards announced
The winners celebrate their prizes at the 2018 Decom North Sea Awards event.
Published: 28 May 2018 - 1:30 a.m.
By: Jonathan Sheikh-Miller

The inaugural winners of the 2018 Decom North Sea Awards have been announced.

Decom North Sea revealed the three winners to an audience of more than 180 people, with categories covering innovation, collaboration and individual achievement across the decommissioning sector.

Sponsored by The Oil and Gas Technology Centre, the outstanding innovation category was won by BiSN for its Wel-Lok M2M well sealant technology.

The excellence in collaboration award, sponsored by Port of Cromarty Firth, was presented to Shell UK - Boskalis – Veolia - Peterson, for demonstrating how collaborative working and sharing best practice can maximise recycling of assets and drive sustainability in the industry.

Mark Bayman, who until recently held the position of decommissioning manager (technical) at OPRED, was presented with the contribution to the decommissioning sector accolade.

Summing up the event, Nigel Lees, Decom North Sea chairman commented: “…(The) award ceremony showcased the impressive work undertaken by some extremely talented and dedicated people and highlighted the importance of celebrating achievement in the decommissioning sector.

“Our judging panel had a considerable challenge when it came to selecting our winners, and I would like to extend my congratulations to all shortlisted companies.”

The evening also saw the announcement of Decom North Sea's new Decommissioning Leadership Group, whose members will drive strategic direction and the delivery of the organisation's objectives, relating across the scope of decommissioning activity.

Click here to add your comment

Please add your comment below
Your email address will not be published